SUGGESTED EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

  • Are you, or someone you know, struggling with a mental health, addiction or relationship problem?
  • Are you or theystruggling with one or more the of the following? fear, anxiety, sadness, hopelessness, irritability, anger, resentments, shame, sleep problems, depression, mood swings, obsessions, compulsions, chronic pain, unintended weight loss or gain, lack of self-care, parenting struggles, conflicts with others, isolation from others, loneliness, or lack of self-control with alcohol, drugs, food, money, sex, tech use, unhealthy habits, relationships or other things.
  • Are you in recovery, but not doing as well as you hoped?
  • Are you interested learning more about how many behavioral health problems can be prevented and dealt with effectively?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, the resources listed below should be of interest to you.   

The information found in these resources is not meant to replace professional help. If you or someone you know needs such help, please reach out to a healthcare provider, referral service, teacher, clergy, friend or other person who might know about quality help available in your area.

At Ephraim Resources, we do not rely on any one expert, school of thought, professional journal, website, media outlet or other resource for health education information. We often learn valuable things from multiple people and resources, including those we might disagree with on certain issues. If we only seek out those we tend to agree with, we run the risk of missing out on important information that might increase our knowledge, broaden our perspective, improve our balance and correct whatever faulty thinking and beliefs we might hold. 

To be clear, our listing of an educational resource is not an endorsement of everything found in it. Although we encourage you to keep an open mind when exploring a resource, we also encourage you to discern what is helpful and right for you--as we all vary some in what works for us. Yet we also encourage you to consider the fact that we human beings, at our cores, have much in common. As such, what is helpful for most of us, is likely to be helpful to you.

Mental Health Problems

Anxiety Disorders Association of America http://www.adaa.org

Bipolarcaregivers.org www.bipolarcaregivers.org

Bipolar Disorder: In Our Own Words https://www.webmd.com/bipolar-disorder/bipolar-life-17/video-bipolar-married-mania

Bipolar Network News www.bipolarnews.org

Eating Disorder Hope www.eatingdisorderhope.com

Eating Disorders Anonymous www.eatingdisordersanonymous.org

FaithNet www.nami.org/NAMIFaithnet

Help Guide www.helpguide.org

Mental Health America www.mentalhealthamerica.net

Mental Health Recovery Resources www.mentalhealthrecovery.com

Mind https://www.mind.org.uk

National Alliance on Mental Illness www.nami.org

National Institute of Mental Health www.nimh.nih.gov

Overeaters Anonymous www.oa.org

Psych Central www.psychcentral.com

Schizophrenia and Related Disorders Alliance of America https://sardaa.org

Schizophrenia.com www.schizophrenia.com

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration www.samhsa.gov

Support Groups http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/find-support-groups

Support Groups https://healthfinder.gov/FindServices/SearchContext.aspx?topic=833

The Silent Epidemic: Students and Mental Health Struggles http://apps.npr.org/mental-health/

Web MD Mental Health Center www.webmd.com/mental-health

Very Well - Panic Disorder www.verywell.com?panic-disordeer-4014676

Addictions

Addictions and Recovery www.addictionsandrecovery.org

Al-Anon https://al-anon.org/

Alcoholics Anonymous www.aa.org

Christian Recovery International www.christianrecovery.com

Debtors Anonymous www.debtorsanonymous.org

Dual Recovery Anonymous www.draonline.org

Eating Disorders Anonymous www.eatingdisordersanonymous.org

Gamblers Anonymous www.gamblersanonymous.org

Help Guide www.helpguide.org

Narcotics Anonymous www.na.org

National Association for Christian Recovery www.nacr.org

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism – National Institutes of Health www.niaaa.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse www.nida.nih.gov

Overeaters Anonymous www.oa.org

Prodigals International www.prodigalsinternational.org

Sexaholics Anonymous www.sa.org

Sober Recovery www.soberrecovery.com

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration www.smahsa.gov

Support Groups http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/find-support-groups

Support Groups  https://healthfinder.gov/FindServices/SearchContext.aspx?topic=833

Relationship Problems

Center for Relationship Abuse Awareness www.stoprelationshipabuse.org

Domestic Shelters www.domesticshelters.org

Family Life www.familylife.com/articles/topics/parenting

The Gottman Institute www.gottman.com

Grandparents Raising Grandchildren https://www.helpguide.org/articles/parenting-family/grandparents-raising-grandchildren.htm

Help Guide www.helpguide.org

Love Is Respect www.loveisrespect.org

National Healthy Marriage Resource Center www.healthymarriageinfo.org

Relationship Problems Center for Parent Information and Resources www.parentcenterhub.org/resources

Well Family www.nytimes.com/section/well/family

Prevention

Futures Without Violence www.futureswithoutviolence.org

Help Guide www.helpguide.org

Healthy Aging http://www.healthinaging.org/

Keep Kids Safe http://keepkidssafe.org/

Mental Health America www.mentalhealthamerica.net/issues/prevention-and-early-intervention-mental-health

Prevention of Mental Disorders  http://www.who.int/mental_health/evidence/en/prevention_of_mental_disorders_sr.pdf

SMAHSA Prevention www.samhsa.gov/prevention

Suicide Prevention Resource Center http://www.sprc.org/

The Business Case for Prevention of Behavioral Health Problems www.nasmhpd.org/sites/default/files/the-business-case-for-behavioral-health-prevention.pdf

Violence Prevention - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/ncipc/dvp/dvp.htm

Zero to Three (National Center for Infants and Toddlers) www.zerotothree.org